Things I no longer worry about…

Since competing for the first time, and learning what actual commitment, dedication and sacrifice really mean (in my life) – there are a few things I find myself just no longer really worrying about. There once was a time when I worried A LOT, because they mattered to me at the time. Now – not so much! The same can apply to you. Embrace those things that make you who you are, and be passionate and proud to chase your dreams. Don’t let the things you can brush of your shoulders hold you back! These are my top 5:

Spending so much time on myself

Bodybuilding is a selfish sport, let’s not dilly-dally around that. When you’re down to the wire, it can be a bit all consuming of your life, so you have to put yourself first. I spent a year worrying about how I was making others feel by chasing my dreams – the journey to my first competition was an isolating one and I felt guilty for it. Now, looking back, this makes NO sense – it’s my goal, so why should I feel guilty for chasing my dreams and pursuing what I want in life? It’s probably because change is hard – socially, if the circle you usually roll with choose not to understand why you have changed your habits and changed your outlook on life, than you’re probably going to be made to feel bad about it. This lack of understanding is something you should be aware of, you’ll inevitably come across those who will not let you feel good about what you’re achieving, they’ll never have nice things to say, but do not let it stop you!

I no longer worry about it because those people who care about me and what I want to achieve, support me no matter what. They were here from day one, and they’re still here by my side, as I am their side. We support each other regardless, and they understand why I make time for me more than I used to – why, if I have scheduled gym into my day, that I intend to stick to it, and social stuff is planned around it, not over it. Not to mention the amazing people I have met along the way; my swole besties and beautiful souls.

Keep the people in your life who truly love you, support you, motivate you and make you happy. If you have people in your life that don’t, let them go. 

Being your idea of sexy

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder – Long story short?  I don’t care what you think is sexy, or feminine. I think I am sexy in my own right, and that’s all that matters! It has taken me a while to stop comparing myself to others, to stop immersing myself in the negativity that sometimes surrounds the sport I compete in. Muscles are scary to so many woman, but I don’t care whether you think I am “too bulky”, whether my thighs are “thick”, or whether my butt is no longer “slender” to match my tiny frame. I feel strong, I feel happy with what I am building and with how far I have come since embarking on this adventure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How big my butt looks in clothes

The bigger the better these days! What a change that is from a couple of years ago.  This is very much tied to the above point – it doesn’t matter what you think looks good, so long as I feel confident, who cares! Big butts rule and I worked so damn hard to build my glorious set of glutes, that I will proudly show them off in any outfit… the problem now? Actually finding an outfit that fits them in! (haha) #FitGirlProblems #SquatButt

Being a certain weight on the scales

Goodness, this one always brought me unstuck – during competition, it is hard not to monitor the scales, as they can be an indicator of progress and are a much needed tool to continuing down the right path to stage BUT (and this is a big but)… they are not the be all and end all. Muscle weighs more than fat, and growth on the scales for muscle building is such a good thing – but even beyond that. TAKE PHOTOS, forget the scale, and listen to your body. Judge your progress by how you feel, and how your clothes might fit, or how you can’t wipe the smile off your face because you’re finally conquering your fears, smashing goals and finding a healthier you. I weigh myself weekly for my coach and record keeping, not for me. Not even slightly. I don’t worry about it anymore. I use it as a tool in my arsenal of tools for success, it is not something I focus on anymore.

img_20151021_115243

Judgement and negativity

It’s hard to avoid this one – as a society, we’re quick to judge, and we’re swift to find the negatives. You don’t have to let this get to you though, find what makes you positive and stick with it. Don’t engage with the negativity, and don’t involve yourself with the judgement. It’s going to happen regardless of what you say or do in life – the moment you accept this, you can let go, knowing you won’t contribute to it. In fact, be a glass half full kind of person, and you’ll find yourself shaping others around you to see the same in their situations.

Now I am not saying nothing gets to me, I have my days, heck, I have my WEEKS… but my life does not come to a screaming halt like it may have in the past. I usually call on those closest to me -let it out, and they either laugh with me, or bring me back to earth. I can’t emphasise how having a strong support network can sometimes make or break your attitude when you find yourself surrounded by judgment and negativity. Those who you surround yourself with can lift you up, further than you ever imagined – choose these individuals wisely.

Above all….

Don’t be afraid to just be yourself. You shouldn’t feel punished because you want to do something for you – strive for the goals you set yourself and don’t worry about the small things that seem HUGE at the time (let me tell you, I know how that feels), but really are nothing in the long term.

Keep up the smiles, and your flare for life! Just be you!

-Teegz xox


Leave a comment